Salaam and Welcome!

img113

Salaam everyone!

Welcome to my brand new blog, “Muslim Reverie.”  My name is Mast Qalander and many of you may have read my posts before on brilliant websites like Racialicious, Islam on My Side, Muslimah Media Watch, and Muslim Lookout, but for those of you who are new, I plan to re-share some of my posts on this new blog periodically.

For the past couple of months or so, I started to feel like many of my posts were misplaced on my other blog.  This is mostly due to how my blog originally started off as something personal and I wasn’t expecting it to evolve into a more social and political blog.  I’m really pleased with how some of my posts have received a lot of recognition throughout the blogosphere (it even received a Brass Crescent Award in 2008 for my two-part essay on Muslim women in comic books), but I think it’s time to limit that blog to private posts only.

On “Muslim Reverie,” I write from the perspective of a 25 year-old Pakistani Muslim-American.  As with my previous blog, I plan to write on a vast variety of subjects:  mysticism, history, theology, feminism, Islamophobia, inter-faith dialogue, media literacy, music, languages, politics/current events, and a lot more!  I will also continue to share some of my poetry and short stories here (I suppose the more private and personal ones will stay on my other blog).  In time, I plan to share short films I’ve written and directed (one is currently in the works and on hiatus, but once it is completed, I will upload it here!).

Anyway, I hope you find this new blog interesting, thought-provoking, informative, educational, and maybe sometimes funny!  Please feel free to share your comments, even if you disagree, I’m always interested in mature discussions and alternate perspectives.  Also feel free to add me to your blogrolls!

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “Salaam and Welcome!

  1. A great start to what looks to be a wonderful blog.

    I think separating your more personal thoughts on matters of romance and intimacy (broadly construed) is a good idea, and probably not so hard to do.

    Looking forward to your ongoing posts.

  2. I’m glad to reach here. because I was searching about any way to send to you to say,I really love what you write.and my soul touched deeply ..you’re -astonishingly- as an old friend of mine.

    I just like to say Hello,I follow up your writings..and I’ll isA.

    🙂 thank you at all..

  3. You write amazingly well! I’ve been reading your blog for the past hour, I’m supposed to be writing my essay on language death& that being an intellectual disaster :/

    Distractions distractions!

  4. I’m very happy to have found this blog. I enjoy your articles (they are so much more than posts!) immensely. I’m a Muslim convert of almost two years and I began to blog on that topic about a year ago on I, Muslimah. (http://muslimah.femagination.com). I added Muslim Reverie to my blog roll. I hope you keep on writing and that I never lose touch with your work.

    Shokrun!
    Ellen

Leave a Reply

