Eid-ul-Adha Mubarak!

Salaam everyone!

Just wanted to wish you all a very happy Eid-ul-Adha!  May this be a blessed time for you and your Loved ones.  May Allah’s infinite blessings fill your hearts on this special day and always bring you happiness!

Eid-ul-Adha, commonly translated as “Festival of the Sacrifice,” is an important Islamic holiday that commemorates the Prophet Ibrahim’s (Abraham) willingness to sacrifice his son Ismail (Ishmael) upon God’s command. As Ibrahim was about to cut his son’s neck, God intervened to replace Ismail with a sheep to sacrifice instead.  Muslims around the world remember Ibrahim’s act of Faith by sacrificing an animal and distributing the meat to family, neighbors, and those in need.  Eid-ul-Adha also marks the completion of the Hajj, the sacred pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca.

I remember watching the horribly racist, anti-Iranian propaganda movie “Not Without My Daughter” in my high school “world history” class (the genius teacher apparently thought that showing us a film that demonized Iranians and Muslims would give us an accurate understanding of Islam, Muslims, and Iran). One in scene particular involved a group of Iranians sacrificing a lamb and the reaction from the non-Muslim characters is disgust and horror. The Iranian husband/father (race-bent and played by Alfred Molina), who goes from friendly, “integrated” Iranian Muslim American to abusive, misogynistic, Iranian Muslim villain (because, you know, he’s getting in touch with his roots when he goes back to Iran), explains to his white wife (played by Sally Field) and daughter that the sacrifice is tradition, but the way in which the scene is shot and edited (along with the gloomy music), Iranian/Muslim bodies are clearly marked with Otherness. I remember feeling very uncomfortable in the room because all of my classmates knew I was Muslim and I could feel their eyes darting to me during this scene (and by the end of the movie, they looked at me like I had a raging Alfred Molina waiting to be unleashed from deep within).

The scene sets up the demonization of Iranians and Muslims that permeates throughout the rest of the film.  The point is to characterize Iranians/Muslims as backwards and uncivilized peoples with a savage culture. I remember being self-conscious of this whenever I’d have to explain to non-Muslim friends and peers about Eid-ul-Adha. Because it’s not about savagery, bloodshed, or scaring off children. As Sumbul Ali-Karamali explains in her book, “The Muslim Next Door,” meat becomes halal (permissible) when the animal is killed by “cutting the jugular vein, outside the presence of other animals, and after saying a prayer over (the animal), which evinces the intention of eating it and not killing it for any other purpose.”  All of the blood must be drained from the animal’s body as well.  According to Islamic law (Sharia), the point of sacrificing an animal in this manner is to minimize pain. As Ali-Karamali adds, “Torturing an animal renders it no longer halal.”

The holiday is about sacrifice, but also about Divine Love and Faith.  Ibrahim’s Faith in God is what leads him to make the decision to sacrifice his son, no matter how much it troubled him.  The spiritual message of Eid-ul-Adha, particularly about the relationship between Reason and Revelation, is quite significant. That is, Ibrahim was requested by God to defy his intellect, to defy reason and take the life of his own son.  It does not make sense to kill your own son and furthermore, murder is prohibited in Islam.  Yet Ibrahim made the sacrifice to express his Love for God, and in turn, God intervened to save Ismail.

There is a common Sufi theme that joy comes after sorrow.  I always saw this as a reference to the Qur’anic verses, “After hardship, there is ease.” This is evident in Ibrahim’s story.  Today, there is so much struggle in the world and it’s important to recognize all of the different experiences people have based upon the oppressive forces that exist in our societies.  By no means do I ever want to appropriate the experiences of people who have or are enduring pain and suffering that I cannot even begin to imagine. I think understanding our privileges and building social justice movements based on mutual accountability and reciprocity are not just important, but also very integral to the message of Islam. The Qur’an’s message of diversity, for example, emphasizes on getting to know one another, which includes understanding our differences.  As the verse reads: “People, We created you all from a single man and a single woman, and made you into races and tribes so that you should recognize one another.” (49:13)

It’s easy for us to feel overwhelmed by the injustices in the world.  For a while now, I have been turned off by privileged people constantly saying, “Come on, think positively!” or “Why do you have to be so negative?!” as if you’ve committed a heinous crime in being human.  I don’t believe in silencing voices or making judgment calls on people who are sharing real and serious experiences with injustice.  Because we are human, we need to be there for each other. We need to be supportive, we need to make efforts to understand, we need to let go our egos and practice humility.  This is a Love that is conscious, compassionate, reciprocal and non-judgmental.  And this kind of Love is needed because to Love others is to Love God.  When Ibrahim was commanded to sacrifice his son, he consulted his son for consent first.  This act alone shows how much Ibrahim Loved his son, and in turn, Ismail shows his Love for Ibrahim and God by agreeing to it.  What we see here is the relationship between Ishq-e-Majazi (earthly Love, or Love for creation) and Ishq-e-Haqiqi (Divine Love, or Love for God).  As many Sufis have taught, one of the ways in which Love is expressed for God is through Love of others. Within the context of Ibrahim and Ismail, their Love for each other was also tied to their Love for God, which led them to witnessing the beauty and blessings of Divine Love.

Amidst the struggles all of us have here, there are efforts being made for justice, for healing,  for peace.  For Love. These efforts will always be there, no matter what the odds are.  It is the reminder of the Divine promise that, yes, “after hardship, there is ease,” that keeps the spirit of resistance strong.

Eid Mubarak. :)

Update: Be sure to read The Fatal Feminist’s post on “Eid al-Adha: Commemorating a Dismantling of Patriarchy.”  I especially like the point she makes about Ibrahim asking Ismail for consent and how that was an anti-patriarchal act.

9 thoughts on “Eid-ul-Adha Mubarak!

  1. Rabia says:

    Hello!

    I’ve been following your blog for quite some time, and I find it lovely. I’m actually creating an argument letter for English, and it is an argument against sensationalism and misinformation in the media, and how that can spark xenophobia and hatred in the mass public. It tells off those who spew propaganda.

    Unfortunately, I’m required to physically send the letter, and I’ve wanted to send it to you. I just wish you’d give me an address. I promise I’m not just trying to send you spam, and I promise it will be a nice read! Please? Help an apprehensive girl?

    Eid Mubarak! :D

    • Hi Rabia,

      Thanks for reading my blog! Your assignment sounds important and I’m sure you’ll do an excellent job on it. Unfortunately, I don’t share my mailing address with anyone for personal reasons. If it’s possible to share your paper with me via e-mail, I’ll do my best to help you out. :)

      • Rabia says:

        Unfortunately, that doesn’t help at all. D: Yes, it’s a very important assignment.

        I totally understand, and disregard my email to you, then. Oh…I am in a conundrum.

  2. NN51 says:

    I just started reading your blog tonight. My landing page was your post about the Prince of Persia character being white(ish). It was an interesting read. Good job on not giving away your address. With a blog like this one that would be a very bad idea. Why would it have to be physically sent? That is very strange. I’d be worried about getting a knock on my door from some terrorist (i.e. Mossad) or something like that.

    Anyway, I obviously didn’t have anything related to this post to say. I came in on another page as I said and I read this one as well and that strange request for an address prompted me to make a comment. If you ever decide to move this site to your own domain be sure to pay the extra $8-9 for private registration! The Jews do not like blogs like this one and they clearly have no problem with committing the vilest acts against “un-chosen” people.

    I’m just a white guy from the USA and I personally feel that the Abrahamic religions are three fairy tales based on the lie. 99.9% of religious people do not choose their god. It is chosen for them at birth and they are basically brain-washed into thinking that their narrow-mindedness is “faith”. These three religions have set the human race back so much. They are the cause of many of the most unspeakable acts in human history.

    The concepts are mostly good but this false sense of faith drives people to be evil. Religion is the motivating force behind the vast majority of hate in this world. Race is another but religion also plays a big part in racism. Many Muslims hate western peoples (whites), Christians hate non-Christians, Jews hate everybody….ect.

    I guess I did have something somewhat related to post lol. You probably do not appreciate my post though. I read several Jewish blogs (and argue via comments usually) and several other blogs. I do not post on any Muslim blogs though. I am utterly without insight on how Muslims, especially Iranians (you are Iranian right?), view the US and everyday news. Perhaps we can help each other better understand these warring cultures of ours.

    Either way though, I would wish you a very happy Eid-ul-Adha but after what I previously said maybe wishing you a great day would be better.

    • LOL. You write a long commented riddled with condescension, anti-Semitism, and Orientalist stereotypes, and then say, “You probably do not appreciate my post though.”

      Then why did you bother commenting and wasting your time? There is no dialogue when you making condescending judgments of my faith and tell me that I am brainwashed. Yes, I believe in fairy tales. I also have a magical flying carpet.

      • Um, first of all, you are a racist. Did you miss your Klan meeting today?

        Second, Canada belongs to the indigenous peoples, not to white people.

  3. Jan says:

    Under Islam the men are whimps who get to do whatever they feel like. THey are not strong and never have been- they have not progressed in hudreds of years. My ex husband left Islam at age 10- he hates Islam. They are hypocrites. A single white woman is 1000 times stronger than ANY moslem man is- a moslem man needs to run to friends and family to get money and support- they cant go out into the real world alone without an y support and survive!!

    • Yeah, like I said in my other reply to you, you are a racist. It’s really pathetic that you have to leave a racist comment on a Muslim holiday. I feel sorry for you.

      There are over a billion Muslims in the world. What do you plan to do, kill them all?

Leave a Reply

