Seventh Annual Brass Crescent Awards

Salaam/Peace everyone!

I’m honored to announce that I’m nominated for “Best Writer” in this year’s “Seventh Annual Brass Crescent Awards.” My two-part essay on Muslim women in comic books won “Best Post/Series” in 2008 and I received an honorable mention for “Best Writer” last year.  There are so many fantastic writers/bloggers on the Muslim blogosphere and I don’t believe there is such a thing as “the best,” but I am humbled by the acknowledgment and appreciation.

I apologize to my regular readers for not updating my blog in a while.  I have been busy working on a very ambitious anti-racist short film of mine.  Along with teaching and working at my part-time job, my blogging time has been limited.  I plan to post up something in a week or two, depending on whenever I have time, but most of my energy right now is devoted to finishing this short film.   I’m very excited about it and I will definitely share updates as the production process progresses.

It’s important that I express my gratitude for your readership, comments, and support.  When I say that your support motivates and inspires me, please know it comes from deep within me.  I’m grateful for all of the things I learn from your comments as well!  I apologize if you commented on my posts and didn’t get a response from me.  I sometimes get so swamped in my everyday life that I lose track of who I didn’t reply to yet.  In any case, your thoughtful and kind words are deeply appreciated!

The link to the Brass Crescent awards website is posted below.  The voting process has already begun and will close on November 19th!  Anyone can participate, so be sure to cast your vote! For those of you who are new to my blog, I posted some “highlights” from my entries this year!  These are some of the posts that I think most of my readers liked a lot.  Of course, feel free to explore the rest of this blog as much as you want!

Love and Light.

Click to visit the Seventh Annual Brass Crescent Awards site.

Highlights of My Blog:

1. Stop Telling Muslim Women How to Dress

2. No One “Hijacked” Islam – Part 2

3. Eradicate Masculinity

4. Question: Why Do Muslim Men Talk About Hijab?

5. Challenging the Performance of Masculinity

6. The Flying Carpet Fallacy

7. Jesus was a Palestinian and Why it Matters

Samples of My Poetry:

1. Arezou (Desire)

2. Fatima

3. Soul Twin

16 thoughts on “Seventh Annual Brass Crescent Awards

  1. Voted for you too! This post just reminded me you are a filmmaker… my roommates and I are working on a leftist fantasy/magical realist webseries centered around characters of color… would it perhaps be possible to pick your brain on our project somewhere down the line?

    • Sitara,

      Thank you!! :) Wow, it’s so weird how you mentioned making a fantasy/magical realist webseries. I don’t know the details about your project and I know you don’t know the details about mine, but all I’m going to say is this feels like a coincidence!

      We definitely have to talk! Always feel free to e-mail me. If there’s anything I can do to help, just let me know! :)

Leave a Reply

