Soul Twin

I wait for you.

Like a messianic prophecy
that will someday come true.

We existed together
before creation of the universe,
somewhere beyond ideas of time,
space and matter.

Elements we became,
stardust fallen from the heavens,
risen upon earth
in beautiful skin and bone.

Separate we are,
histories of our own,
yet sharing a dream
that sometimes seems
too far-fetched to understand.

I search for you.

Like mystics possessed by longing
for unity with God.

Deep in the city of my soul,
walking through the remains
of shattered dreams
and haunted memories,
the cold stare of phantoms
remind me of the battles
that were fought,
all of the pain and agony
that was endured.

There are whispers here
amongst the dark ruins,
voices that speak of the One,
a companion who will come
fulfilling a truth forgotten.

The roses I find in the dark
are signs of your presence,
I have not seen your face,
but I know you are here,
existing within me,
where I am also
within you.

Our souls overlapping,
walking, sometimes racing
towards one another;
journey onward, say the voices,
across the oceans,
the fields, the mountains.
Reunion is close,
slowly coming into view
like darkness fading to dawn.
Don’t give up, friend,
follow the signs
for they are rays of light
cast from the Beloved.

I breathe with you
and you with me,
reciting holy verses
to bridge distanced hearts,
like poetry we are,
music in perfect harmony;
Believe –
meld your flame with mine,
we’ll make a firestorm together,
fierce and passionate
like strokes of lightning,
flashing in their wild splendor,
lighting up the skies
for all eyes to see;
and like bursts of hot energy
shooting beams of fiery light,
we’ll strike the earth,
burning and melting the illusions
to set our prisoner-selves free.

We’ll wake from this dream-world,
and become crowned
on the throne of Love
in our transcendent reality.
We’ll enter the garden
and become whole again,
lit by the torch of Angels,
shining ablaze in our immortality.

Feel this union in meditation,
in a place where separation fades away;
only you can understand this magic
that drives the journey through.

Know that when I dance for God,
I am also dancing for you.

~ Jehanzeb

8 thoughts on “Soul Twin

  1. :) Jehanzeb, infinite peace be yours. I love all the entries I’ve read on your blog so far. I was working on my novel and was doing a little research about how men feel about hijabs. One blog I came across shared your entry about that very same thing, and when I visited your blog I’m not sure, but I think I kinda fell in love with all your opinions. Reading your thoughts, it was kinda like an inner echo or a marble spinning around a bowl – but less cheesy. The bowl being my… Hmm… Not sure. At the risk of sounding like a goof, I’d like to say… I wanna be your friend! lol.

    N

    • Thank you for your beautiful and sweet comment, Naima! It put a smile on my face. I’m glad that you enjoy my writings and I hope that some of it helped for your research. It’s always great to make new friends. Feel free to e-mail me and we’ll connect, insha’Allah. :) I would Love to hear about your novel!

  2. Pingback: Seventh Annual Brass Crescent Awards « Muslim Reverie
  3. Wow, Jehanzeb, you are also a poet?! I’m so impressed. You are the zeb of Jehan, aren’t you now?! Wonderful! Really enjoyed it. I particularly liked:

    I breathe with you
    and you with me,
    reciting holy verses
    to bridge distanced hearts,
    like poetry we are,
    music in perfect harmony;

    Wah! Wah!

Leave a Reply

