I am Officially Published!

Salaam and greetings everyone!

I’m really excited to announce that my work has been published in a wonderful book called “Teaching Against Islamophobia.”  Late last year, I was invited by one of the editors to contribute a chapter about the way Muslims are depicted in mainstream American comic books.  When the editor told me that the book was about teaching against Islamophobia and encouraging dialogue, understanding, and respect, I felt so honored to be a part of it.

My chapter is called “Holy Islamophobia, Batman!  Demonization of Muslims and Arabs in Mainstream American Comic Books.”  It is published as chapter 6 and is 12 pages long.  It also contains references and a brief biography in the back.  You can purchase it on Amazon.com by following this link:  Teaching Against Islamophobia (Counterpoints: Studies in the Postmodern Theory of Education).

Here’s a brief description of the book:

As corporate and governmental agencies march us towards global conflict, racism, and imperialism, this book contends that teachers must have the tools with which to combat unilateral politicization of Arabic and Muslim peoples. Teaching Against Islamophobia creates a pedagogical space for educators to engage with necessary issues and knowledges regarding the alienation of Islamic culture, religion, knowledge, and peoples.

Edited by a WASP, a Jew, and an Iranian, this book confronts the fears, challenges, and institutional problems facing todays teachers. Taking its cue from critical pedagogy, this book is a collection of essays by artists, writers, performers, and educators committed to naming the insidious racism and hatred of those who would isolate and vilify Islam.

It was surreal receiving it in mail and then seeing my name under the chapter title.  The fact that the book is designed for teachers gives me a lot hope that educational institutions will be more conscious and aware about Islamophobia and how it not only impacts Muslims, but also those who are perceived to be Muslim.  I want to deeply thank all of you — my readers — for always showing your support and appreciation.  I cannot express how much it means to me.  Growing up as a Muslim-American and being in high school when 9/11 happened hasn’t been easy, but when I see the diversity of my readers, who are both Muslim and non-Muslim, I know that there are people out there who truly care about bringing change and promoting coexistence.

Insha’Allah (God willing) this is the first of many publications.  I hope to some day write a book of my own, as many of my dear friends are encouraging (read: forcing) me to, lol!

Peace be with you all.  Lots of Love and Light,

~ Jehanzeb

9 thoughts on “I am Officially Published!

  1. Congratulations!!!

    A well deserved honour! I just read through the information in the preview on Amazon and it seems the perfect book for university faculties of education as well as other departmental courses on post-modernism. I shall spread the word.

    I will also spread the word to my sister, an elementary school teacher in a public school board of education with a very high population of Muslim students, her principal, and the school librarian. Some of the young adult fiction resources and the others hinted at by the final chapter may well belong on their personal, and school library shelves.

    I have admired 3 bookstores I know of with a large collection of children’s books explaining Islam, or featuring Muslim characters and stories of contemporary life for North American Muslims (for example). It think these definitely should be on all public school library shelves.

    Tahar Ben Jelloun’s Islam Explained to Children, and Racism Explained to My Daughter also belong on adults’ and children’s personal and public library shelves.

    Congratulations again! I am sure this is only the beginning of your pedagogical publications! :)

    • Wow, thank you so much, Chiara! It means a great deal that you told this to your sister, the school principal, and the librarian!

      Thanks for recommending those books. I had not heard about them before. Be sure to check out my friend Krista’s chapter on “Bifocal.” I think it’s towards the end.

  2. Katya says:

    Well, Jehanzeb, I’m sure it’s all getting very boring for you by now, but please allow me to chime in with my congratulations to the newly-published author! I’m not surprised you were asked to contribute; you are an *excellent* writer with something worth saying! :)

    By the way, those editors pretty much describe my family! My family of origin and I are the WASPS, my husband and his side of the family are the Iranians, and one brother-in-law and his family are the Jews! And we all get along *just fine,* thank you very much! Never, ever a problem; we’re all just *people,* for goodness sakes!

    So congrats again from someone who shares your views and is grateful to find that there are others who think the same way, and who *loves* to write but has certainly never been published!

Leave a Reply

