Fatima

002

I dreamt of being awake,
traveling through dust and sand
of an unknown desert realm.

Lines on my hands
turned to the alien sky
as my weeping blood-tears
left flooded trails
across the crimson dune sea.

Darkness and its caravan
passed me a thousand times
striking my body
with sword and arrow;
trying to batter me
into ungodly submission.

The horde dispatched a one-eyed creature,
a satanic beast hungry only for flesh and blood,
its charging feet pounding the earth like meteor-blasts,
claiming to kill in the name of God.

The dark army lingered behind
“We are the hounds of heaven!” they barked.
“We are here to purify you of your transgressions!”

My weak soul trembled in fear
I am unable to hold my ground.
One more pass
And death will be near.

I recited my kalimah
And suddenly felt the desert wind;
The zephyr’s calm whispered enigma
to my mourning soul.

I turned in the direction of mystery
and saw a green-robed warrior,
galloping on her heavenly steed;
my words became lost to beauty,
my mind lost all sense of logic and reason.

Her weapons were Star-lit flowers
thrown onto the battlefield;
thorns burst out of roses,
and like raining daggers
they pierced into the hearts of the enemy;
beneath them, the sand opened like a tunnel,
I watched the desperate army
sink into the nameless abyss
darkness fell into emptiness:
non-existence, nothingness;
and like a dragon’s breath
a violent fire-storm erupted from below
and launched into the sky.

Heaven’s fire
set the new garden ablaze;
flowers in the desert,
jade blossoms coiled on the gates;
I watched her bless this place.

Beneath her feet
I saw the seven heavens
unfolding like solar blossoms;
I felt my soul fainting
at the sight of this surreal vision.

Before I awoke to transitory reality,
I said:

You are our infallible queen
Daughter of the apostle –
Muhammad, the Chosen one –
May Allah’s peace and eternal blessings be upon you

For you are Fatima,
Rose of the Empyrean

3 thoughts on “Fatima

Leave a Reply

